PIA Executive Committee:

Frontotemporal Dementia and Related Disorders

Chair: Yolande Pijnenburg, MD, PhD
Yolande Pijnenburg is Associate Professor at the Alzheimer Center and Department of Neurology of the Amsterdam University Medical Center, location Vrije Universiteit Medical Center. Her research is focused on the early diagnosis of FTD with a particular interest in the development of biomarkers and the differentiation with late-onset psychiatric disorders. She runs a multicenter neuropsychiatric research cohort study. She leads the Neuropsychiatric International Consortium for Frontotemporal Dementia and is the chair of the Dutch FTD experts group. She is a member of the executive committee of the of the International Society for Frontotemporal Dementias.

Vice Chair: Jonathan Rohrer, MD, PhD
Dr Jonathan Rohrer is an MRC Clinician Scientist at the UCL Institute of Neurology and Honorary Consultant Neurologist at the National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery. His research focuses on the development of novel biomarkers in frontotemporal dementia (FTD). He leads the Genetic FTD Initiative, GENFI, an international multicentre cohort study of presymptomatic genetic FTD (www.genfi.org.uk). He also runs FTD UK (www.ftduk.org), an annual scientific meeting of UK researchers who work in the FTD field, and runs a website dedicated to providing research updates to the general public about FTD: FTD talk (www.ftdtalk.org). He co-chairs the FTD Prevention Initiative (FPI) and is a member of the Association for FTD Biomarkers Initiative Scientific Board.

Programs Chair: Bradley Boeve, MD
Dr. Brad Boeve is a consultant in the Department of Neurology and Center for Sleep Medicine at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, and is Professor of Neurology in the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science. He also serves as Chair of the Division of Behavioral Neurology. His clinical and research interests include the non-Alzheimer’s degenerative dementias and the neurologically-based sleep disorders, with particular interests in frontotemporal dementia +/- parkinsonism +/- ALS, primary progressive aphasia, corticobasal syndrome, and progressive supranuclear palsy/Richardson’s syndrome, among other disorders. He is a member of the Medical Advisory Council of the Association for Frontotemporal Degeneration, the International Society for Frontotemporal Dementias, and the FTD Prevention Initiative. He is co-PI of Longitudinal Evaluation of Familial Frontotemporal Dementia Subjects (LEFFTDS), co-investigator in Advancing Research and Treatment in Frontotemporal Lobar Degeneration (ARTFL), and co-PI of the ARFTL-LEFFTDS Longitudinal Frontotemporal Lobar Degeneration (ALLFTD) Consortium. He is funded by the National Institute on Aging, National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, the Little Family Foundation, and the Mangurian Foundation.

Communications Chair: Chiadi Onyike, MD 
Dr. Chiadi Onyike is Associate Professor in the Division of Geriatric Psychiatry and Neuropsychiatry at the Johns Hopkins University. He leads clinical and research programs at Johns Hopkins engaged in frontotemporal dementia (FTD) epidemiology, neuropsychiatry and care. He is an investigator in the ARTFL LEFFTDS Longitudinal FTD (ALLFTD) Consortium, the FTD Prevention Initiative (FPI) and the Neuropsychiatric International Consortium for FTD. He also serves on the Association for Frontotemporal Degeneration Medical Advisory Council, the FTD Disorders Registry Scientific Advisory Board, the Alzheimer’s Association Best Clinical Practices Guidelines Work Group and the FDA Advisory Committee for Central and Peripheral Nervous System Drugs.